Resin Bezel Earrings

drying in a Styrofoam wreath

drying in a Styrofoam wreath

I came across a Pin that involved bending wire into a shape, placing it inside an earring bezel, and covering with resin. So I went online and found a package of fifty 20mm silver leverback earring blanks for under $9. They came last week, so I got to work!

The 20mm earring blanks

The 20mm earring blanks

The first thing I tried was bending some cheap, colorful wire into spirals. I glued them into the blank and filled with resin. Aside from a few tiny bubbles, they came out very good!

resin earrings 19
resin earrings 4
resin earrings 5

resin earrings 14

These were so easy! And the colored wire is the cheap stuff from Walmart that I got in the dollar bin. So next I used this Dicro-ISH paper from Little Windows that I am in love with to fill a few bezels. Lovely, as usual with that DicroISH paper!

they were wet in this picture...I had rinsed them off.

they were wet in this picture…I had rinsed them off.

All you do with the paper is cut a circle to fit, crinkle it up, unfold it back into a circle, and insert in the blank. Actually, you should put a bit of resin in the blank first and then slide the paper circle into the resin. Otherwise sometimes you get an air bubble under the paper and it looks terrible.

resin earrings 6

I then had read a post about putting your scraps of the dichroic paper into a coffee grinder, so I used about four different colors of paper and it came out so pretty!

dicroISH paper scraps, run through a coffee grinder, then placed in a bezel with a silver wire swirl in it.

dicroISH paper scraps, run through a coffee grinder, then placed in a bezel with a silver wire swirl in it.

The last thing I tried was tinting some translucent clay with anywhere from one to five drops of alcohol ink to make a sea glass like stone. It was a rousing FAILURE because even the bit with just one drop of ink in it was far, oh so far from translucent. So I glued the finished stones into a bezel, put a wire swirl on top, and painted some resin on top.

resin earrings 18
resin earrings 17
resin earrings 16

I’m not done with these yet – painting on the resin is harder than filling a bezel.

One thought on “Resin Bezel Earrings

Leave a Reply

