Crysanthemum Cane Polymer Heart Pendant Necklace

crysanthemum cane 11

I have SOOO many polymer clay canes in my fridge….I first came across canes on EBay a year or so ago, and I was intrigued. How do they do it? I ordered two and studied them when they came, then set to practicing. My first ones were silly looking indeed. And I still can’t make super detailed ones, or even really good flowers. But I have learned you really can’t mess up an abstract cane.

crysanthemum cane

So I came upon this tute for a translucent chrysanthemum cane from PC Polyzine and even though I said I am not making any more canes until I use up some of the ones I already have, I made it anyway.

crysanthemum cane 4

It was actually too easy, and literally took about five minutes. It’s a strip of white, a strip of pearl, a strip of any color translucent (I used translucent red), and then a bunch of scraps torn into little pieces and pressed all over the stack of strips. Roll it up jellyroll style, and the log is then pierced halfway through eight times with a credit card to distort. And voila! That’s it!

crysanthemum cane 6

I made two hearts, as shown in the tutorial, with scrap clay as the centers. I made four beads, too….by covering some wooden beads with slices of cane. And sigh, I still have about 3/4 of the cane left to add to my stash of canes. They have taken over BOTH butter dish spots on my refrigerator door.

ingredients:   silver 11/0 seeds, silver 4mm bicones, pink 6mm crystal rondelles.

ingredients: silver 11/0 seeds, silver 4mm bicones, pink 6mm crystal rondelles.

crysanthemum cane 8

I actually wanted to use silver chain to make this necklace, but I can’t find any! Holy Smokes! An excuse to go bead shopping. So I did the next best thing: tiny silver seed beads. I will save the other heart and beads for another necklace later.

crysanthemum cane 10

Leave a Reply

