Polymer Leaf Pendants

leaf pendants 8

I came across a picture tutorial for making leaf impressions in polymer clay yesterday, so I went out in my yard to see if I could find some leaves with veins to give it a go. Being in Florida, I have some strange trees in my yard, not the lovely oaks and maples that I was used to growing up in New Jersey. But I found a few that would do the trick:

add detail to outline with a toothpick

add detail to outline with a toothpick

So I rolled out some green clay, laid the leaves on it and rolled with the brayer. After rolling you then have to use a tool (I used a toothpick) to go over the veins as they do not come out very deep. The major outline of the leaves was easy, but I used quite a bit of artistic liberty in making the inner details. Hard for me as I do NOT consider myself an artistic sort in any way, but they came out okay. I tried adding some pearl colored pearl-ex powder first, but did not like how light the contrast was.

adding pearl-ex powder to the leaf impression

adding pearl-ex powder to the leaf impression

I put copper pearl-ex powder on one before baking, and the other I left alone as I wanted to try adding some paint to it. I used some 6/0 copper seed beads for the holes. Then I baked.

black acrylic paint applied and sponged off

black acrylic paint applied and sponged off

copper pearl-ex powder on this one

copper pearl-ex powder on this one

After baking and coloring, before applying resin

After baking and coloring, before applying resin

So I finished them off by applying a coat of epoxy resin to them. The big square one is, well pretty big! But you can clearly see the leaf. The smaller round one came out kinda looking like a tree, so I will from here on think of it as a tree pendant.

finished, resined square leaf pendant

finished, resined square leaf pendant

finished, resined round tree pendant

finished, resined round tree pendant

a view just to show how shiny and glossy the resin makes it.

a view just to show how shiny and glossy the resin makes it.

I had a lot of fun making these, and I will be keeping my eye out for some smaller veiny leaves to make some pendants a bit smaller than these.

UPDATE: I ended up stringing the big square pendant on some copper wire, I figured the pendant is so big maybe I can even it out by stringing it on a thin cord. I added some green miracle beads and brown mother of pearl squares to each side for some extra flavor.

leaf pendant necklace

still pretty darn big.  I haven't found the top that supports wearing this necklace yet......

still pretty darn big. I haven’t found the top that supports wearing this necklace yet……

Leave a Reply

