Beads and Flowers from one Polymer Clay Cane

pink flower cane

It all started with this cane, which is just a skinner jelly roll of white and pinks, and pinched into a sort of petal shape. I followed this tutorial for a polymer flower and used two sizes of the cane, larger petals for the outer part, and smaller petals for the inside.

pink flower cane 2

Use the old “bend the eye pin” trick so that it will not slide out of your finished work.

pink flower cane 3

Start adding petals to a circle of pink on top of your green base. My flower has WAY less petals than the tutorial flower! That’s par for the course….I am very impatient. My first flower came out so pretty! But HUGE! I mean absolutely huge, like what am going to do with THIS??

pink flowercane  6

I also broke off a petal and glued it back on. Oh well, another refrigerator magnet! Or……

flower candle

attach it to an electric candle! I bought this candle at Big Lots last week, intending to maybe polymer clay cane it, but when I got it home it turns out it is made of wax! So applying cane slices and baking is pretty much out, I suppose. So voila! Big Flower finds a home!

I did make a second, smaller flower and put it on a cord and wore it to work.

pink flower cane necklace

So I had a bunch of cane left, and decided to turn it into an actual flower cane.

pink flower cane 8

I like to cover wood beads with cane slices. Besides saving on clay, they are guaranteed same size and the hole is already taken care of. I found out the hard way that you need to use wood beads that are finished in some way; unfinished raw wood beads makes the clay blister. I buy painted wood beads from DC&C Crafts, packages of 80 beads for $1.50 and they work beautifully with polymer clay.

pink flower cane 7

I made two sizes of flowers on my beads, and then strung them with colored wooden beads for some bracelets.

pink flower cane 11

pink flower cane 10

pink flower cane 9

So two projects, one cane. And I still have about four inches of cane left over!

Leave a Reply

