Mokume Gane polymer and resin pendants, inspired by a fellow blogger!

red and green mokume 4

Easter morning isn’t the same when your kids are grown and gone. Add to that the fact that my husband dispatches for a local taxi company on Sundays from our bedroom, and that equals being on my own in the living room on Easter morning! So I took my laptop and, being new to wordpress and this blog, I decided to go through my reader and check out what kind of stuff everyone else is doing this week!

slices of mokume gane clay

slices of mokume gane clay

The very first comment I ever received on this blog was from Kerry Best who, like me, is also just getting into polymer and resin. Inspired by this video from Beads, Baubles and Jewels on her blog, I got out my pasta machine for a little Easter morning craft time!

red and green mokume 2

red and green mokume 6

The colors are definately not what I envisioned (hello, Christmas!) but hey, you gotta work with what you have sometimes. I still have to drill holes in them, and I have half the clay sheets left over for some different shaped pieces another day. The leftover scraps from the cutouts were used to make some coordinating beads when I eventually string these babies!

The finished pendants, on black rubber necklaces.

The finished pendants, on black rubber necklaces.

1 thought on “Mokume Gane polymer and resin pendants, inspired by a fellow blogger!

  1. Those look great! Fun stuff….I tried some pink, turquoise and white this weekend – still got to figure out what to do with all the slices too (It usually hits me when I’m about to fall asleep).

Leave a comment