Split Circle Polymer Pendant on Squiggly Wire

finished pendant on a black rubber chain

finished pendant on a black rubber chain

Okay, so I came across this really cool looking polymer pendant on Flickr. A circle, cut in half, each half set on a piece of squiggly wire and slightly spaced. Why not?

work in progress

work in progress

I bent my wire to look like the photo. Piece of cake! The only thing I would definately change next time is the size of the entire thing. It’s HUGE! So you make a loopy spiral for the bottom, about four curves of wire, and leave the top straight so that you can make a hook or a bail later. I rolled out a piece of black clay and put some green cane slices on it to match the green wire I was using. The wire I used was also pretty thick, so I figured the easiest way to get this all on the wire was to cut out TWO circles and sandwich the wire between them.

sandwiching the wire piece between two clay circles

sandwiching the wire piece between two clay circles

After carefully lining up all the circle halves, I smoothed the outer sides best I could. I baked. I buffed. I finished with “Finish” polish. Then bent the top wire into a loop to attach a jump ring.

after oven, before making the top loop

after oven, before making the top loop

Okay, so I’m not crazy about the way I laid the cane slices, I would definately try and make a more continuous pattern next time. And this thing is THICK, I also will try and make a smaller wire piece and thinner clay pieces. But all in all, it is a very interesting concept, and was actually very easy to do. Definately unique!

The big ol' finished pendant

The big ol’ finished pendant

One thought on “Split Circle Polymer Pendant on Squiggly Wire

Leave a Reply

