Rainbow 3 Loop Seed Bead Earrings

Finished Pair!

Finished Pair!

I came across an old “like” that I had on Pinterest for some Summer Quill Earrings that looked so cute and easy that I decided to try, using some 9mm bugle beads that I had instead of quills, which I quite definately did not have.

3 equal lengths of seed beads, in hombre-ish color scheme

3 equal lengths of seed beads, in hombre-ish color scheme

one unfinished earring next to a finished earring

one unfinished earring next to a finished earring

I made three lenghts of seed beads, in a rainbow hombre color scheme. Each string is the exact same number of each color, with one bugle bead in the center of each side. I attached the three strings together on each end with a crimp bead.

Each side closed by inserting all three strings into a crimp bead

Each side closed by inserting all three strings into a crimp bead

I then joined the two sides together by putting all six strings through another crimp bead. Try and make sure that the strings are not twisted when you crimp, so that they hang in a loop.

making a loop for the jump ring

making a loop for the jump ring

Make a loop out of the six strings so that you can attach a jump ring to it. Put all six strings through a small crimp bead, as it is very hard to get a tool up under the bead cap after you add it. My crimp bead was small enough that all six strings fit snugly in there even without me actually crimping the bead.

Adding a bead cap to cover all the crimp beads, and a jump ring to the loop that was made

Adding a bead cap to cover all the crimp beads, and a jump ring to the loop that was made

Slide a bead cap over the whole mess, and pull the strings from the bottom of the bead cap to snug up the loop and pull it down. I inserted the tip of my needle nosed pliers into the loop while I was pulling, so I didn’t pull the loop down into the bead cap. Attach the jump ring to the monofilament loop, and then pull the bottom strings down until the jump ring sits on top of the bead cap. Trim all the loose strings at the bottom of the bead cap.

All trimmed up and ear hook attached

All trimmed up and ear hook attached

Add the ear hook to the jump ring and that’s it. I am positive that there are better ways to do this, but this is the method that I came up with and they came out neat and sturdy. All in all, it probably cost me less than a buck to make these. I am thinking about ordering some actual quills, I have never worked with quills but they look pretty neat. I found THIS WEBSITE that sells porcupine quills, both dyed and natural. Apparently there are approximately 3,000 quills in an ounce! This site sells ounces for around $25, and quarter ounces for $6 to $8, which seems pretty reasonable.

One thought on “Rainbow 3 Loop Seed Bead Earrings

Leave a Reply

