Shades of Red / Gold Leaf ‘Mokume Gane’ Polymer Clay Pendants

After baking, before resin

After baking, before resin

Tonight when I got home from work, I was psyched to see a box sitting on my bed from Hobby Lobby (free shipping last week, plus 30% off all resin bezels!). Included was a package of gold leaf, which I have been dying to try out.

The first thing I thought of was a mokume gane-ish cane that I saw last week on the internet which can be found here that involves mixing 4 pieces of transluscent clay with varying size pieces of another color to make 4 shades of a color, then layering them all with pieces of gold leaf between each sheet.

run through pasta machine on thickest setting

run through pasta machine on thickest setting

So here are the baked pieces, I will probably resin them later tonight so they can dry tomorrow. The shades of clay did NOT look all that different when I was layering them, but they did actually come out where you can tell them apart in the final product. The cane in the tutorial that I linked to came out so much nicer than mine! I think it’s because I absolutely hate, and suck, at sanding. The resin will bring out all the details in the pieces, it acts like a magnifying glass I have found. So can’t wait to see them after the resin!

I put resin on both sides

I put resin on both sides

And here is the final product…well, I haven’t drilled the hole in it yet but I like them alot!

Leave a Reply

